Board of Directors

Health Quality Innovators (HQI) is governed by a board of directors that includes up to 10 voting members who represent Medicare consumers, senior advocates, physicians, providers, health policymakers and insurers.

As an organization committed to sound governance, HQI has adopted practices designed to promote a healthy board. These include three-year terms, a limit of two successive terms, and a $200 per meeting cap on compensation for voting members who are not HQI team members. New appointments are made at the January meeting.

  • Sara Redding Wilson

    Sara Wilson


    Ms. Wilson, a Manakin-Sabot resident, has more than 40 years of experience in management and corporate law. She is President and CEO of Drive-To-Work, a non-profit that assists low income and previously incarcerated individuals restore their driving privileges so they can drive to work and hold a job. Previously, she served as the agency head of the Virginia Department of Human Resource Management and for Signet Banking Corporation as executive vice president and general counsel. Ms. Wilson received her bachelor’s in mathematics from Hamilton College and her law degree from the University of Richmond’s T.C. Williams School of Law. Her current term expires in 2022.

  • David Horrocks, MPH, MBA

    Current term expires

    Vice Chairman

    Mr. Horrocks, a Clarksville resident, is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Chesapeake Regional Information System for our Patients (CRISP), the regional health information exchange (HIE) for Maryland and the District of Columbia. Previously, he held multiple roles at Erickson Retirement Community, serving as Senior Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer. Starting his career in computer engineering, Mr. Horrocks worked at both Vis.align, an IT services firm, and AbiliTech, a nonprofit focused on helping people with disabilities gain employment. He earned his Bachelor of Science in Engineering from the University of Pennsylvania and a Master of Business Administration from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. In addition, Mr. Horrocks holds a Master of Public Health from Johns Hopkins University, where he continues to pursue studies. His current term expires in 2023.

  • Kurt Proctor, PhD, RPh

    Kurt Proctor


    Dr. Proctor, a Fairfax Station resident, is Senior Vice President of Strategic Initiatives and President of the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Innovation Center. In addition to previous leadership roles at NCPA, which represents the nation’s more than 23,000 independent pharmacies, he has served as the National Association of Chain Drug Stores’ (NACDS) Senior Vice President of Pharmacy and led the NACDS Foundation. Dr. Proctor also has worked as an independent consultant on pharmacy practice, quality improvement, health information technology, care coordination and medication therapy management. As an HQI Pharmacist Consultant from 2009-2011, he led a successful improvement initiative that reduced drug-drug interactions for older adults in the primary care setting. Dr. Proctor earned his bachelor’s degree in Pharmacy from Ferris State University and both his master’s and doctorate in Pharmacy Administration from The University of Texas at Austin. His current term expires in 2023.

Jan P. Clement, PhD

Virginia Commonwealth University
Current term expires 2021

Lindsey Vaughn, MD

Sentara Medical Group
Current term expires 2021

Gregg R. Laiben, MD

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas City
Current term expires 2023

F. Ellen Netting

Current term expires 2021

Clifton J. Porter, II

American Health Care Association
Current term expires 2021

Jerry Slaughter

Kansas Medical Society
Current term expires 2023